Thursday 7.2.2019 19.00 Season concert 3
25/19/11€ Espoo Cultural Centre
Platinium 2018-2019 Gold 2018-2019
Thursday 7.2.2019 19.00 25/19/11€ Espoo Cultural Centre
Platinium 2018-2019 Gold 2018-2019

The Tapiola Sinfonietta concert at the Musica nova Helsinki festival includes three premieres: one world premiere – Teosto Prize winner Antti Auvinen’s Digital Madrigal – and two Finnish premieres: Wires (2016) is composed by guitarist Bryce Dessner, known for his career in the american indie rock band The National. In this work Dessner plays guitar himself. Innovative modernist master Morton Feldman has written the work For Samuel Beckett (1987), which features quiet, static surfaces of sound. The orchestra is conducted by conductor Baldur Brönnimann known for his wide repertoire of contemporary music.

In co-operation with Musica nova Helsinki



Open Final Rehearsal


Come and see how the orchestra works to prepare the evenings concert. The open final rehearsals begin at 10 am and end at 1 pm. You may also leave at the break, which begins at 11.20 am. An introduction is given in the foyer of the Espoo Cultural Centre at 9.50 am. Admission free.

Pre-Concert Talks


Presenter: Antti Auvinen.
Admission free. Seats available on a first-come first-served basis.

Bryce Dessner

Wires, Finnish premiere

Antti Auvinen

Digital Madrigal for orchestra and video, world premiere

Morton Feldman

For Samuel Beckett, Finnish premiere


Show all concerts