Friday 17.11.2017 19.00 Season Concert 8
25/19/11 € Espoo Cultural Centre
Friday 17.11.2017 19.00 25/19/11 € Espoo Cultural Centre

The wilds of the North are translated into music in Rautavaara’s Cantus Arcticus and Outi Tarkiainen’s sax concerto written for Jukka Perko. The title of the latter, Saivo, is in Sámi and points to the supernatural world. Shostakovich’s rugged and compelling Chamber Symphony rounds out the programme.



Pre-concert Talks

18.15 - 18.45

Presenter: Kimmo Korhonen. Admission free. Seats available on a first-come first-served basis.

Einojuhani Rautavaara

Cantus Arcticus, concerto for birds and orchestra

Outi Tarkiainen

Saxophone Concerto ‘Saivo’, world premiere

Dimitri Shostakovich

Chamber Symphony op. 73a


Show all concerts